Annual Golf Tournament
June 3, 2024
Please join the members of MPI Rocky Mountain Chapter at the Annual Golf Tournament
more information and registration

Overall Excellence Chapter Award



MPI Rocky Mountain Chapter History

The Meeting Professionals International Rocky Mountain Chapter (MPIRMC) officially weighed in at 7:15 pm on Tuesday, November 13, 1973 at Stouffer’s Denver Inn (now the Denver Doubletree Hotel) as the Rocky Mountain Area MPI (RMAMPI).


Paul K. Barsaloux, President of MPI, officially designated RMAMPI as the first of its kind to be spawned by the international organization, as he cited the need to bring “…more professionalism into the field of meeting planning by uniting together to develop our own expertise as meeting planners.” A year-long 25th-anniversary celebration of MPI’s first chapter, MPI Rocky Mountain Chapter, took place in 1997 headed by the Dream Team 25!

The first newsletter, the INTERCOM, was begun in 1974. 1977 was a big year for RMAMPI. First, a Bibliography Committee was formed to research and then maintain a listing of all known publications, periodicals and educational materials related to the field of meeting planning. The project soon expanded to include negotiating with the Denver Public Library to institute a special section for meeting planning (MPI assumed oversight of the Resource Library in 1987). Secondly, the MPI Fall Conference was held at the Antlers Plaza in Colorado Springs.

1982 brought the 10th Annual MPI meeting (now WEC) to Denver with a record-breaking attendance of 1200+ registrants. The two headquarter hotels were the Denver Marriott City Center and The Fairmont (now the Hyatt Regency Denver Hotel). June of 2004 brought MPI back to Denver with the WEC (second highest attended conference in MPI history). The two headquarter hotels were, again, the Marriott and the Hyatt.

The Meetings Industry Council (MIC) of Colorado is a coalition of professional organizations related to the meetings and events industry. The Council’s purpose is to enhance collaboration among participating organizations through networking and education while being the main source for industry knowledge and consultation as well as foster the continued growth of the meetings and event industry in Colorado.

The benefits of the collaborative efforts of MIC include:

  • Planning, promoting and execution of the MIC Annual Conference. This effort allows us to maintain one full day, all-inclusive conference for networking, education and tradeshow/supplier opportunities. In lieu of individual competing events, there is a revenue share that benefits each member organization.
  • Exchanging calendars of events to avoid duplication of meeting dates.
  • Sharing chapter programming information and educational articles for inclusion in each organization’s newsletters.
  • Providing membership mailing lists to other Council member organizations to promote individual organization sponsored events.
  • Initiating special joint programs pertaining to relevant issues within the meetings industry.
  • Expanding networking opportunities and knowledge of the industry.
  • Initiating joint recommendations and action on pertinent issues to the industry locally, nationally and internationally.

In 1991, seeing the need to collect unused surplus prepared food in our community, MPI Rocky Mountain Chapter, working with Food Bank for the Rockies, helped to create Denver’s Table. The tradition of support for this organization has continued through the annual MIC Serving Up Hope Luncheon.

MPI Rocky Mountain Chapter has also been the home chapter for a number of MPI past presidents and chairwomen including Rudy Wright CMP, Stephen D. Powell, and Kitty Ratcliffe. Additionally, one of our founding officers, Dick Hildreth, was dean of the first 4-year degree meeting administration program in North America at Metro State University of Denver. MPI Rocky Mountain Chapter remains a leader in the industry. As we continue to grow, we encourage our members to become involved in the leading organization in the Rocky Mountains — MPI Rocky Mountain Chapter!

See the entire history of MPI thru 2011 via tiki-toki here:


MPI Rocky Mountain Chapter Past Presidents

2022 - Nikki Bibbero CMP, HMCC
2021 - Stephanie Sadri CMP
2020 - Nancy Maffucci
2019 - Dana Rains CMP
2018 - Joyce Reilly
2017 - Tiffany Carson CMP
2016 - Stacie Cisco CMP
2015 - Terri Utecht CMP
2014 - Wendy Klein CMP
2013 - Danny Findley / Heide Kraus, CMP*
2012 - Devon Binder CMP, CMM / Michelle Thompson CMP*
2011 - Heather Hartland CMP / Michelle Thompson CMP*
2010 - Heather McCarthy-Savoca
2010 - Terri Utecht CMP / Jed Hansen*
2009 - Steve Kinsley / Robbi Hogan*
2008 - Megan Meyers CMP / Kim Duffett*
2007 - Cherie Hogue / Heidi Hughes*
2006 - Kristin Hutton CMP / Elizabeth Payne*
2005 - Tracey Kirk CMM / Pauline Gunn*
2004 - Donna Watford CMP, CMM / Cynthia Mitchell*
2003 - Richard Harter CMP / Vicki L. Berntsen*
2002 - Allison Kinsley CMP, CMM / Vicki L. Berntsen*
2001 - Lucy Shemilt / Laura Cappel CMP*
2000 - Janice Detweiler / Kara Swenson CMP

1999 - Cheryl Shackelford / Annette Swan*
1998 - Jeri Wagner CMP / Beth Belt CMP*
1997 - Marsha Temple CMP / Phillip Harris*
1996 - Eleanore Swanson CMP / Michele Brown CMP*
1995 - Mary Catherine Keener / Kathy Schell*
1994 - Barbara Taylor Carpender CMM / Ellen Birrell*
1993 - Teri Harrington
1992 - Sharon Schoeffield
1991 - Jeri Clouatre
1990 - Sandy Gerety
1989 - Doris Ahrnsbrak
1988 - Mike Davis
1987 - Sally Crawford Ramm
1986 - Mary Webster
1985 - Kate Blattenbauer
1984 - David Liscio
1983 - David Liscio
1982 - Pam Madden
1981 - Steve Powell
1980 - Penny Hiernu
1979 - Cathie Price
1978 - Carl Norberg
1977 - Gail Gorman
1976 - Silvia Kornelson
1975 - Dick Hildreth
1974 - Fred Handy

*Utah Chapter President

Connect with Us

Job Postings